Follow

Working with the Photo Well

Uma -

One of the first steps to personalize your creation is uploading your photos! To import your photos into the Photo Well, see the steps below.

Please note: Accepted photo formats are .jpg and .bmp files.

If your photo well photos are missing, please see the troubleshooting section at the bottom of this article.

Importing your photos

Open Smilebox and click the "Get Photos and Videos" button, shown below.

get photos and videos button.png

 

From here, you can choose where you would like to import your photos from: My Computer, Facebook, or Smilebox for iPhone.

Please note: The import options shown below are not yet available for Windows 8 customers.

facebook_computer_iphone_crop.png

For a step-by-step guide to downloading your photos from social media or Smilebox for iPhone, please scroll down to the bottom of this article.

To navigate to a different folder on your computer, you can choose from the folders shown on the left-hand side, click the "up" arrow (shown below) or search your folders.

navigate_folders.jpg

 

Time saving tip
To select multiple photos, hold "Ctrl" or "Shift" while selecting (see below). You can select all photos by holding "Ctrl + A".

You can also drag and drop your photos into the Photo Well directly from your Pictures folder!

drag_and_drop_highlighted.png

To learn how to upload video files, click here.

Rearrange or clear your photos

To reorder your photos within the Photo Well, simply click and drag to the desired position. To remove a single photo, right-click and select "Clear (Del)". You can also delete multiple photos at once by holding "Ctrl" while selecting.

 rearrange.png            clear_del.png 

 

To clear the entire Photo Well, click the "Clear Photos and Videos" button, at the bottom of the well.
 clear_photos_and_videos.png

Please note: Clearing the Photo Well will not remove any photos from your creations.


If you would like to use our Auto-fill feature or want to learn more about adding photos to a design, click here.

Time saving tip

We recommend that you add your photos/videos to the Photo Well and rearrange them in the order you want them to appear in your creation before using the Auto-fill feature. If you decline the Auto-fill feature but change your mind later, you can always exit the design and start a new one by selecting it from the Design Catalog and the Auto-fill feature will appear.

Importing from social media or Smilebox for iPhone

After selecting Facebook, a pop-up window will appear asking you where you would like to get your photos. From here, you can choose to import from:

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Flickr
  • Picasa
  • Google Drive
  • Amazon Cloud Drive

For more information on these options from filepicker.io, please visit their FAQ page.

filepicker.io.jpg

 

After selecting Smilebox for iPhone, you will see your most recent Smilebox moments.

To import, select a moment and click "Add".

smilebox_moments_iphone_cropped.png

 

Troubleshooting 

Please be sure you are signed into your account and that you are using the same computer you used originally. When you install Smilebox on more than one computer, you will not be able to see the photos in both locations, since they are saved locally on the computer you used to import them and will not be transferred automatically.

If the Smilebox program crashed unexpectedly or you have recently uninstalled/reinstalled Smilebox, the Photo Well may be cleared. The only way to retrieve your photos is to import or add them back from your original picture folder.

Please note: If you have photos in previously shared Smilebox creations, you can retrieve these photos from playback. To learn how to do this, click here.

 

If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact us at support@smilebox.com or submit a request above.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request